Diary of a Fat Chick

Fat girl living in a skinny world

I am fat. June 21, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rhonwyyn @ 1:40 pm
Tags: ,

Thursday, June 5

It is absolutely freeing to acknowledge that I am fat. I no longer feel like I need to tiptoe around the elephant in the middle of the living room, as Ben Stein put it. I am fat. There’s no hiding it. And that’s okay.

I went shopping with my sister on Tuesday. She wears 12s and 14s, I think. Me, I’m more of a 32. It was so much fun showing off outfits to each other and discussing what’s attractive, what’s stylish, etc. I could speak freely and honestly about my fat and how clothing fits or doesn’t fit. I didn’t complain about my body, only about the clothes. 

When I first joined the online community way back in the day, I didn’t want anyone to know I was fat because it was such a horrible thing. Now, after reading so many stories of women who have owned their shape and size and has bolstered the comfort I have in my own skin, I am no longer fearful as identifying as fat.

I am fat. I am a person of value. The two are not mutually exclusive.

 

Leave a Reply

