Diary of a Fat Chick

Fat girl living in a skinny world

Fat Kids? July 6, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rhonwyyn @ 10:40 pm
Tags: , ,

Pdiff left this comment, so I wanted to make my reply a post.

So Rhohwyyn, what if the child was obviously over weight. Would you be supportive of unsolicited intervention then? Childhood obesity can be a serious health issue too.

Just curious.

Pdiff

I think it’s hard to know – for the untrained eye – when a child is unhealthily overweight. It’s normal for children to be “chubby.” In general, I don’t think it’s really something to be concerned about, at least not to the extent that it’s being freaked out about in Oz.

I have a feeling, too, that many, if not most, parents can see when their children are fat, just like most people know when they themselves are fat. Or do parents have blinders on when it comes to their own children? I doubt it, though, because how many of us heard from our parents – mothers, in particular – that we were too fat? Practically all of us. Maybe the solution is finding a way to speak positively and gently about fat and health, not tear down our children for things they can’t control?

 

One Response to “Fat Kids?”

  1. Pdiff Says:

    First, thanks for replying. Sorry I have been away … and also sorry I mis-spelled the name last time around .

    rhonwyyn said: “Maybe the solution is finding a way to speak positively and gently about fat and health, not tear down our children for things they can’t control?”

    I’d agree completely. I wasn’t trying to critique. I truely was curious. I was at the other end of the spectrum, i.e. skinny. I was teased relentlessly as a kid – – bean pole, stick, string bean, etc. Although I don’t know for sure, I’m sure my mom heard about how thin I was too. I was very tall too, which made things worse. The point is, the difference for kids between “too fat” ,”too skinny”, too tall”, “too short”, etc., etc. is non-existent when it comes to their peers. And, yes, it is out of their control, which is why I cringe when I see mom or dad gladly handing the kid a supersized 32 oz Pepsi. They should know better.

    Do you think that the “untrained eye” can know when a child is unhealthily underweight? Why the difference between over and under weight? I’ve had people tell me that my 20 yr old niece is anorexic because she is so thin. That’s hardly the case, however, as I have lived with her, as has her boy friend, for quite some time and she simply has a very high metabolism. She eats like there’s no tomorrow, but also never slows down. At this point in her life she just doesn’t retain the calories (as I never did until a few years ago 🙂

    Also, I would differ on the opinion that “It’s normal for kids to be chubby”. Human populations have huge variations in genetic fat retention potentials. See the Hopi Indians vs Nordic descendants, for example. The fact is, however, that kids in general in the good ol’ USA are now fatter than they used to be. And childhood obesity has been positively linked with health problems later in life. That, as well as anorexia, etc, should be of concern.

    Sorry for rambling here….

    Pdiff


Leave a Reply

